In 1958, Fr. Jim Ross and around 50-60 families from Christ the King Parish were given the task of building a new Parish in north Oklahoma City. The Parish was named St. Eugene, honoring Pope Eugene I who served as Supreme Pontiff of the Roman Catholic Church from 654 to 657. He was the patron saint of Bishop Eugene McGuinness, who served as Bishop of the Diocese of Oklahoma and Tulsa and died not long before our Parish was founded. From those humble beginnings in 1958 our Parish has grown to over 1600 families, welcoming people of faith from every corner of the world. The continents of Africa, Asia, Europe, South America, and North America are all represented here. Every year on the 2nd Sunday in September we celebrate the richness of the many diverse cultures of our Parish at the “Festival of the Americas International.”
This is a special time in the history of our Parish with the completion of a new Parish church building. Archbishop Paul Coakley presided at the Dedication Mass on April 20, 2012 and the first weekend Masses were celebrated on April 21st and 22nd. The new building seats 800 and has a permanent baptismal font for infant and adult baptisms, new restrooms, a bride's room and other amenities. The present church building, which seats 475, is being converted into what it was originally built to be—a Parish hall.
We have a vibrant Parish with ministries in Outreach, Education, Community Life, Administration, and Worship. There is something for everybody. We have a very active senior citizens group of those 60 years and older, a young adult ministry for those 18-39 who are single or married and an active youth group. Our local Knights of Columbus Council serves our Parish and wider community in many different ways, and the women of the Altar Society gather monthly in their guilds and raise funds to provide for the needs of the sanctuary.
There are English-speaking Bible studies and Spanish-speaking prayer groups. Our Parish is known for its outreach to those in the wider community who are in need through our St. Vincent de Paul Conference. Our Parish school was founded in 1959 and now has over 350 students in grades Pre-3 through 8th grade. There are four Masses on the weekend: a Vigil Mass at 5 p.m. Saturday, the main English Mass with choir at 9:30 a.m. Sunday; a Spanish Mass at noon and at 7:00 p.m. on Sunday; and a 5 p.m. Sunday Mass.
Fr. Donald J. Wolf became Pastor of St. Eugene on July 1, 2013 and is assisted by Rev. Christopher Brashears, Rev. John Mejia, Deacons Bill Bawden, Tom Goldsworthy and Alejandro Randolph, a professional full-time staff, a dedicated Pastoral Council and Finance Committee and literally hundreds of lay ministers and volunteers.
We invite you to come experience the hospitality and generosity of the people of St. Eugene, where we are rich in diversity, yet one in faith.